التاريخ

في 28 مارس 2016، وافق مساهمو بنك الإثمار ش.م.ب. سابقاً على خطة التحول الهامة في عمليات المجموعة.إن هذه الخطة التي اقترحها مجلس إدارة بنك الإثمار ش.م.ب. سابقاً ووافق عليها المساهمون في اجتماع الجمعية العامة غير العادية أدت إلى تحول السجل التجاري للبنك إلى شركة الإثمار القابضة ش.م.ب. (الإثمار القابضة)، وهي مرخصة من قبل مصرف البحرين المركزي وتخضع لإشرافه، كما أنها لاتزال مدرجة في كل من بورصة البحرين وبورصة الكويت. وتتضمن الخطة احتفاظ شركة الإثمار القابضة بنسبة 100 في المائة من الأصول التي كانت مملوكة لبنك الإثمار ش.م.ب. سابقاً من خلال كيانين تابعين، إحداهما بنك الإثمار ش.م.ب. (م) (بنك الإثمار) وهو بنك تجزئة إسلامي يتولى أعمال التجزئة المصرفية الأساسية، والأخرى آي بي كابيتال ش.م.ب. (م) وهي شركة استثمارية تقوم بإدارة الاستثمارات وغيرها من الأصول غير الأساسية، علماً بأن كلاً من الكيانين التابعين قد تم الترخيص لهما من قبل مصرف البحرين المركزي ويخضعان لإشرافه.

وقد تم تصميم خطة الهيكلة الجديدة لتتضمن استراتيجية نمو طويلة المدى مع التركيز على نمو عملياتالتجزئةالمصرفيةالأساسية، بالإضافة إلى ضمان التركيز على إدارة الاستثمارات وغيرها من الأصول. وتدرك مجموعة الإثمار دائماً التغيرات في حركة السوق وتقوم بالاستفادة منها كفرصة لتحقيق التحول في هيكلها الذي تم بناءه بتاريخ 13 أغسطس 1984 حين تأسست الإثمار في البحرين تحت اسم مصرف فيصل البحرين للاستثمار.

في 21 أكتوبر 2003، قام مصرف الشامل بشراء جميع أصول ومطلوبات مصرف فيصل البحرين للاستثمار (FIBEC) مع بقاء الوديعة النظامية بشكل استثنائي مودعة لدى مؤسسة نقد البحرين [مصرف البحرين المركزي حالياً]. وقد تلى عملية الشراء هذه مباشرة قيام مصرف الشامل ببيع حصته كاملة من رأسمال مصرف فيصل البحرين للاستثمار إلى مجموعة دار المال الإسلامي ترست وتم تغيير اسم مصرف فيصل البحرين للاستثمار إلى بنك الإثمار ش.م.ب.

وفي 4 نوفمبر 2003، ألغيت أسهم الإدارة المصرح بها والصادرة من الفئة أ التي تمتلكها دار المال الإسلامي ترست من مصرف الشامل وأعيد تنظيم رأس المال المصرح به بحيث أصبح 300،000،000 سهم عادي تبلغ القيمة الاسمية لكل منها دولاراً أمريكياً واحداً. وفي التاريخ نفسه، تم إصدار 10،000،000 سهم عادي بحيث أصبحت مدفوعة بالكامل بدلاً من أسهم الإدارة من الفئة أ الملغاة و20،000،000 سهم عادي أصدرت بأنها مدفوعة بالكامل مقابل قيمتها نقداً. وفي 31 مارس 2004، تمت زيادة رأسمال الأسهم الصادرة في بنك الإثمار بحيث بلغ 150،000،000 دولار أمريكي عن طريق إنشاء 120،000،000 سهم إضافي وصدرت جميعها لحساب دار المال الإسلامي ترست. وفي 25 أكتوبر 2005، تمت زيادة رأس المال المصرح به بحيث بلغ 500،000،000 سهم عادي تبلغ قيمة كل منها دولاراً أمريكياً واحداً.

في أغسطس 2006، تملكت الإثمار حصة قدرها 60% في مصرف البحرين الشامل (مصرف الشامل)، وهو مصرف تجزئة إسلامي. ومن خلال هذه العملية التي بلغت قيمتها 410 مليون دينار بحريني أدى تملك الحصة المذكورة في مصرف الشامل إلى التوسع في أنشطة الإثمار بحيث شملت كافة مجالات العمل المصرفي والخدمات المالية الإسلامية.

وقد كانت عملية تملك الحصة في مصرف الشامل جزءاً من صفقة في اتجاهين جعلت الإثمار تتخلى عن ملكيتها الكاملة في الشركة الإسلامية للاستثمار الخليجي (جزر البهاما) لصالح دار المال الإسلامي تراست. ومن خلال عملية البيع البالغة قيمتها 150 مليون دولار أمريكي حقق البنك ربحاً قدره 104 مليون دولار أمريكي وقد ظهر هذا بوضوح في أرباح بنك الإثمار في العام 2006.

في العام 2007، استحوذت الإثمار على ما نسبته 40 بالمائة من حصة الأقلية في مصرف الشامل والذي كان شركة عامة مساهمة، وبذلك يكون مصرف الشامل شركة تابعة ومملوكة بالكامل لها. ولقد عقدت اجتماعات الجمعية العمومية غير العادية للإثمار ومصرف الشامل في 29 نوفمبر 2007. كما تم تخصيص شركتين مستقلتين لتقييم أداء الإثمار ومصرف الشامل. ولقد وافقت الجمعيتان العموميتان غير العاديتين في كلا البنكين على عملية تبادل الأسهم والتي كانت عبارة عن إتمام النسبة المتبقية وهي 40 بالمائة من حصة الأقلية في مصرف الشامل من خلال تبادل 12 سهماً من بنك الإثمار عن كل 10 أسهم من مصرف الشامل. وبناء على ذلك، أصدر بنك الإثمار 446,5 مليون سهم جديد للأقلية المساهمة في مصرف الشامل. ولقد وافقت الجمعية العمومية العادية للإثمار كذلك على إصدار 288 مليون سهم إضافي لمساهمي بنك الإثمار الحاليين وذلك في 28 نوفمبر2007.

وفي فبراير 2008، أعلن بنك الإثمار شراء 19,1 في المائة من الحصة المعلقة لرأسمال بنك البحرين والكويت، الشركة الرائدة في المصارف التجارية، بمبلغ حوالي 123 مليون دينار بحريني. وقد اشترى بنك الإثمار 147,6 مليون سهم، بسعر 832 فلساً للسهم الواحد، من خلال مزاد عُقد نيابة عن البنك التجاري الكويتي في سوق البحرين للأوراق المالية. وفي أغسطس 2008، زاد بنك الإثمار حصته في بنك البحرين والكويت إلى 25,38 في المائة.

وفي أبريل 2010، انتهى بنك الإثمار من عملية إعادة التنظيم الشاملة مع شركته التابعة والمملوكة له بالكامل، مصرف الشامل، ليبرز كبنك إسلامي رائد في مجال الأعمال المصرفية للتجزئة، وهو مرخص من قبل مصرف البحرين المركزي كبنك تجزئة إسلامي ويخضع لإشرافه.

History & Background

On 28 March 2016, shareholders of formerly named Ithmaar Bank B.S.C. approved plans to significantly transform the group’s operations. The plans, which were proposed by the formerly named Ithmaar Bank B.S.C. Board of Directors and approved by shareholders at an Extra Ordinary General Assembly, resulted in the conversion of the then existing Commercial Registration into Ithmaar Holding B.S.C. (Ithmaar Holding), which is licensed and regulated by the CBB and continues to be listed on the Bahrain Bourse and Boursa Kuwait. Ithmaar Holding retains 100 percent ownership of all assets previously owned by Ithmaar Bank B.S.C., through its two wholly-owned subsidiaries: Ithmaar Bank B.S.C (closed) (Ithmaar Bank), an Islamic retail bank subsidiary which holds the core retail banking business, and IB Capital B.S.C. (closed), an investment subsidiary, which holds investments and other non-core assets. The two subsidiaries are licensed and regulated by the CBB.

 

The new group structure was designed to assist in realising long-term strategies to focus and grow the core business and to ensure independent and focussed management of its investment and other assets. Ithmaar Group has always considered the changing market dynamic and used this as an opportunity to transform itself. The new structure builds on a history that dates back to 13 August 1984 when Ithmaar was first established in Bahrain under the name Faysal Investment Bank of Bahrain E.C. (FIBEC).

On 21 October 2003, Shamil Bank of Bahrain (Shamil Bank), an Islamic retail bank, purchased all the assets and liabilities of FIBEC then in existence with the exception of the statutory deposit lodged with the Bahrain Monetary Agency (BMA) [currently the Central Bank of Bahrain- CBB]. Immediately following this purchase, Shamil Bank sold the entire share capital of FIBEC to Dar Al-Maal Al-Islami Trust (DMIT) and the name of FIBEC was changed to Ithmaar Bank B.S.C.

On 4 November 2003, the authorised and issued Class A management shares acquired by DMIT from Shamil Bank were cancelled and the authorised capital was reconstituted to 300,000,000 ordinary shares of US$1.00 each. On the same date, 10,000,000 ordinary shares were issued as fully paid-up in exchange for the cancelled Class A management shares and 20,000,000 ordinary shares were issued as fully paid-up for cash and on 31 March 2004 Ithmaar Bank’s issued share capital was increased to US$150,000,000 by the creation of an additional 120,000,000 shares, all of which were issued to DMIT. On 25 October 2005, the authorised capital was further raised to 500,000,000 ordinary shares of US$1.00 each.

In August of 2006, Ithmaar Bank acquired a 60% shareholding in Shamil Bank. As a US$410 million transaction, the acquisition of Shamil Bank directly broadened the activities of Ithmaar Bank to cover the entire spectrum of Islamic banking and finance services.

The acquisition of Shamil Bank was part of a two-way deal, which saw Ithmaar Bank cede its 100% shareholding in the Islamic Investment Company of the Gulf (IICG) Bahamas to DMIT. The US$150 million sale transaction has netted a profit of US$104 million, which was reflected in Ithmaar Bank’s profits for 2006.

In 2007, Ithmaar Bank acquired the remaining 40 per cent minority interest in Shamil Bank which was publicly held, thereby making Shamil Bank a 100 per cent subsidiary. The Extraordinary General Meetings (EGMs) of Ithmaar Bank and Shamil Bank were held on 29 November 2007. Two independent firms were engaged to perform valuations for Ithmaar Bank and Shamil Bank. The share exchange proposal, of 12 shares of Ithmaar Bank for 10 shares of Shamil Bank held by the remaining 40 per cent Shamil Bank minority interest, was approved by both of the EGMs. Accordingly, Ithmaar Bank issued 446.5 million new Ithmaar Bank shares to Shamil Bank minority shareholders. The Ithmaar Bank EGM also approved the issue of 288 million bonus shares to existing Ithmaar Bank shareholders (as at 28 November 2007).

In February 2008 Ithmaar Bank announced its purchase of 19.1 per cent of the issued and outstanding share capital of BBK, a leading commercial bank, for approximately BD123 million. Ithmaar Bank bought 147.6 million shares, at a price of 832 fils per share, through an auction held on behalf of the Commercial Bank of Kuwait at the Bahrain Stock Exchange. In August 2008, Ithmaar further increased its stake in BBK to 25.38 per cent.

In April 2010, Ithmaar Bank completed a comprehensive reorganisation with its then wholly-owned subsidiary, Shamil Bank, to emerge as an Islamic retail-focused Bank,  licensed and regulated by the Central Bank of Bahrain as an Islamic Retail Bank.